Home

With eight pounds of frozen ground beef in my freezer and no proper ingredients to try anything new, I thought I would try my hand at meatballs, I mean really, how hard could it be?

I tracked down an Easy Meatballs recipe and seemed to have all everything I needed, except breadcrumbs. Without a worry I hit print and headed home from work to cook.

I replaced breadcrumbs with crumbled toast; sure that it was nearly the same thing then decided it would be a great idea to add some grill seasoning and BBQ sauce. I mean honestly, who doesn’t love those two things?

The onion was as “minced” as it was going to get without having a hint of blood to it. The oven was preheated, meat defrosted and everything mixed.

I looked at the baking time – 30 minutes? Seriously?

Screw baking. I pulled out the frying pan, greased it up and began placing my balls in – hey I had seen it done on House before.

Turned on the flame, let the balls cook and started the pasta.

After a few minutes I began to wonder if my balls should be rotating to cook through.

I had placed my meatballs in the frying pan like sardines in a can; needless to say, they weren’t going anywhere. I tried anyway.

One failed ball turn later and I had given up hope on all of the balls, took the spoon – mashed and stirred.

A splash of sauce later and the amount of meat was overwhelming for my three servings of pasta and a good 30 minutes had gone by.

Dinner was served (and lunch was boxed up) – Pasta with Meatball Mash.

While the meat was not balled up and rolling around with my pasta, it was some of the best meat I had had in my pasta, if not in a long time then in forever.

Want to make your own Meatball Mash pasta sauce?

You will need:
– 1 lb lean ground beef
– 1 egg
– 2 tbsp. water
– ½ cup bread crumbs
– ¼ cup minced onion
– ½ tsp. salt
– 1/8 tsp. pepper
– ½ cup BBQ sauce
– 1 tbsp Grill Spices
– Splash of red sauce

The process:
– Chop onion
– Mix all ingredients except beef in large bowl
– When mixed well add beef
– Mix all ingredients together
– Pour some oil into frying pan
– Move meat mixture from bowl to pan
– Add splash of vinegar
– Cook on medium-high heat until all meat is cooked

4 thoughts on “Meatball Mash

Leave a Reply

