Home

I honestly cannot remember the last time I read a book, cover-to-cover, small print asterisked lines and all. It most defiantly was not one of those college assigned readings. It has been so long, it is honestly sad that I cannot remember the book I last read, well prior to this one…

Twitter is an amazing product, at times bringing the same concept of Stumble Upon to 140 character messages and a nice scrollable list.

It was an early Wednesday afternoon, with not much to do at work I pulled up Twitter hoping for a glimpse at something interesting or stimulatingif not both.

The Huffington Post never fails; their slide shows are usually good for a giggle or two, if not more. And there it was- a tweet about a slide show with eight “hilarious real-life” text messages sent from parents, how could I resist?

Eight slides later, I was laughing and craving more. When Parents Text: So Much Said… So Little Understood, all eight slides made up the book that was released by the creators of WhenParentsText.com and I had to have it. A few clicks on Amazon and the book was destine to arrive at my door step shortly after Thanksgiving, perfect to curl up to leftovers with.

Finally it arrived. I brought the book to work planning to pull it out on my lunch break for a good few laughs and entertainment. Little did I know I would quite literally be Laughing Out Loud and struggle to put the book down. Lucky for me the day was slow at work and a few hours after my lunch break I was already halfway through the book.

By the end of the first day I had dominated a good two thirds of the book, cracking up the whole way.

By lunch time the next day at work the book was complete. No page in the book went unturned, no line unread, no appendix untouched.

When Parents Text: So Much Said… So Little Understood (the book) is sectioned out into different chapters; the first of course and introduction which is a nice welcome to the book for those like myself who never ventured onto the When Parents Text web site. The text are then divided out in the book by subject, you know like: advice text, wow text and even Harry Potter text. Each chapter begins with a message from one of the authors about how their parents or families fall into the chapter, a short story of sorts.

Each chapter has you laughing, even if you have no idea what the text are about.

I, for one, have not touched a single thing Harry Potter. No wait – that is a lie. When I was younger, like fourth or fifth grade, I picked up the first book and read the first few pages and somehow confused the story with James and the Giant Peach. I put the book down and never touched a Harry Potter book again.

When the movies first came out, since no one in my family was “intoHarry Potter we never forked over the dough to see them. As I got older and friends went to see the movies it a) seemed like a lot of work to catch up and b) felt like I was just going to jump on to the next fad, so I never went. Needless to say, when I came to the Harry Potter chapter of the book I was not thrilled nor did I plan on getting the humor.

Boy was I wrong. I am not sure if my lack of a Harry Potter background just made things seem that much more comical, but I was laughing and possibly even found some of my favorite text in there.

I thought the book was amazing. If you are a fan of WhenParentsText.com the book makes as a nice home for some of the funniest text to date.

And at the very least, if you aren’t going to read the book cover-to-cover, fully absorbing all of the comedy, it is one of the most comical coffee table books you can be sure you, your friends and even your family will enjoy.

2 thoughts on “When Parents Text

    • haha. I highly recommend it. As I read it I though, man those are text I would send my kids if I had any. The book isn’t a band price and if you have an Amazon Prime account you can get free two day shipping on it — no wait! Hope you enjoy reading it :)

Leave a Reply

