Home

One of my biggest pet peves is complaining about something that has to do with work, especially when it boils down to simply complaining about working. I am not talking about that 5 am roll-out-of-bed moan, “I just don’t want to go to work today,” that whoever is still in bed is lucky enough to sleep through; because seriously, who hasn’t done that?

No, I am talking about that “friend” on Facebook who seems to fill up your news feed with their childish whining about working, or having to go to work, or the traffic on the way to or from work, or how they really just don’t want to be at work.

In November 2011 a Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) study showed that there were13,303 unemployed Americans in that month alone, that is an unemployment rate of 8.6; and 5,691 of those people in November were unemployed for 27 weeks or longer with 1,276 new Americans entering the workforce for the first time.

The news is a constant reminder of how hard times are, the media blast us with messages that state we are in the worst recession since the Great Depression and we each know at least one person who is looking for a job.

On my Facebook friends list I have a constant offender of these types of complaints, someone that was cluttering up my precious news feed with how bad traffic is on I-495 in the rain.

I wish you could say ‘well boss I made a valiant effort to get to work and its just not happening see you tomorrow,’” posted the Facebook offender.

It was raining out that morning and traffic sucked – but hang on, let’s back up a moment and disclose some other important information. If you are not familiar with the Northern Virginia (NOVA) region then you may not know about our terrible traffic that can cause a simple 15 minute drive to take nearly 2 hours – yes it can really get that bad. Both myself and the Facebook offender live in NOVA, hence also how I knew what the weather was that day. When it there is always guaranteed traffic and then it rains on top of that, well you know that getting anywhere is going to take time and royally suck. That being said, my Facebook offender has not only lived in NOVA all their life – which ensures me they know about this magical traffic – but they have also had this job for at least a year now – confirming they should at least have an idea about the traffic.

My Facebook feed is filled up with near daily post by my Facebook offender or someone else complaing and it tends to sound a lot like this:

I hope I oversleep & wake up on Friday evening after its too late to go to work.”

Today is a great example of I tried but it’s just not happening so I’ll try again tomorrow.

Next year I am taking this week off. This crap sucks.” *This was posted the Tuesday everyone headed back to work after Christmas. You know that week where you work three full days, one half day and your done.

 “Come on week, be over already” *This was posted the very next day (Wednesday after Christmas)

If you are lucky enough to have your job and you are lucky enough to be making some type of income to at the very least support yourself, if not also your family then why complain about it? And please, dear God – if you are going to complain about having to work please do not turn around and complain about not having any money to afford the things you want or need.

In September of this year there were 13,992 unemployed Americans according to the same BLS study, I was one of those unemployed Americans. I can tell you first hand having no job sucks. No matter how much money you have saved, it never seems like enough and every time you pull some of that money out, you cringe because you know it will be a year before it is ever there again. It is the worst feeling in the world, you feel worthless, at times depressed and if you thought the stress of real life was bad when you had a job, well wait till you suddenly don’t – it gets worse.

Other research has shown that complaining about work just makes for a toxic work place and a poor mentality at work (or about work). If you think it is going to suck – well, then it is going to suck.

Alexander Kjerulf, the Chief Happiness Officer at positivesharing.com, addressed the plague of toxic work complaints hitting the office in his article Top 10 reasons why constant complaining is so toxic in the workplace. In short, complaining to bitch and complain – or posting on Facebook nearly every day – just makes things worse. Those rosy red glasses you had on about your job during that first month, also known as the Honeymoon, well the frames seem to be broken. While you may now be taking things at face value, you also insure that there is some negative spin on them as well.

Complaining creates a cult with the flu; the complainers join together the leader becomes the one who can complain the loudest and others soon chime in.

In a time where our economy is reported to be in a rocky state and other reports show how lucky you are if you have a job, why would you complain? Even if your job entails a 3 hour commute (which you knew about when signing the offer letter) or your job is cleaning up after others, be happy you have a job because there are thousands (if not more) of others out there that would love to take your job – and possibly do it better then you do.

2 thoughts on “Just be happy you have a job

  1. Hi,
    Very true, we all complain about our jobs it’s in our DNA I think. :)
    When I was working it wasn’t so much the job but some of the other people that worked there, still I always appreciated the pay at the end of the week. I really feel sorry for those that have lost their jobs through no fault of theirs but just the times in which we live.

    • haha, you are right, I will admit I do my fair share ot complaining, but not a day goes by that I am not greatful that I have my job. I also try and limit my complaining, if I know there will always be traffic, well then why complain about it? I actually found when I stopped bitching in my car on my way to work and just enjoyed my cup of joe and the thinking time the commute gave me that I was much happier and the ride was so mush smoother. Her is hoping the new year brings new jobs and oppertunities for all of those in need.

Leave a Reply

