Home

Resolutions” give a strange feeling of failure, usually long before I even start them. In the early planning stages, right after Christmas when those New Year’s resolutions are on everyone’s mind I already feel sick.

“The act of an instance of resolving”

Resolution and well, its counterpart resolve both make me feel like I am saying that there was something wrong and I want to change it, “we will resolve this problem,” “the issue has been resolved.”

I am sure the fact that most of us fail our resolutions does not help with the perception of the terms either. That being said, this year I will be setting goals… not even New Year’s goals, just goals. Things that I want to work on to better me, because in the end this is what that resolution thing is all about right?

As the New Year approached and left I think I heard more about setting “clearly defined, tangible goals.” Clearly defined meaning rather than saying “I want to get in shape,” say “I am going to work out for 30 minutes five days a week.” Tangible meaning realistic goals that I can meet – traveling to Pluto seems to be out of the question.

I figured what better way to hold myself accountable to my goals then to publish them on the internet?

I am nowhere near having all of my goals done, I really want to think them through, be realistic and pick things that are important to me and will, well, help me become a better person.

To ensure the goals are always at easy access to us all, I have created a Goals page where I will add to my goals as I come up with them.

This year, rather than focus on the problems of 2011 and attempt to fix those mistakes, I will focus on making myself a better person closer to the one I want to be.
4 thoughts on “Resolutions vs. Goals

  1. Thank you for this! I thought the exact same thing when I contemplated how I would spend 2012. Resolving something makes it sound like a problem, something that is a deficiency in yourself that needs to be fixed. Goals is much more purposeful and positive. Also, it’s something that doesn’t have to be completed in a single calendar year. What if the thing you’d like to do requires a lifetime but can be begun today? Great post, and I love that graphic with the acronym. Very helpful!

    • That was my thinking exactly. I felt like I needed more time then, what, six days to come up with what I wanted to focus on and improve. That is always why I just called them “goals” although, looking back “life goals” might have worked too. The graphic just seemed to tie it all together, a teacher freshmen year of college put that up on the board — it has stuck ever since. Good luck with all of your goals this year and in the future!

Leave a Reply

