Home

At early ages we all began learning how to spell our own names, but unlike those Smith’s and Jones’ out there, mastering the spelling part was not always that easy.

My last name, Gioia, came with two challenges – learning how to say and spell it.  Setting my brother and I off on the right foot, my parents felt it was very important for us to know this information at an early age and shortly after we learned that Bingo tune we were learning how to spell our last name.

It was genius idea and has withstood the test of time. My parents made learning how to spell Gioia fun, by putting it to the tune of a song (I probably should have tried this will all of my spelling words in grade school). A few years back I sheepishly shared the tune with a friend from college who after knowing me for over a year finally mustard up the courage to ask how to say my last name. After telling her it is “joy-a” she could not help but question how long it took me to learn how to spell it (note, she already knew I was a terrible speller) so I shared the Gioia version of the Bingo song with her – it was stuck in her head the rest of the day.

Long before first grade my Dad had my brother and I singing this (remember Gioia is pronounced JOY-A):

There is a family who has a name
And Gioia is our name-o
G-I-O-I-A
G-I-O-I-A
G-I-O-I-A
And Gioia is our name-o

There is a family who has a name
And Gioia is our name-o
(clap)-I-O-I-A
(clap)-I-O-I-A
(clap)-I-O-I-A
And Gioia is our name-o

There is a family who has a name
And Gioia is our name-o
(clap)-(clap)-O-I-A
(clap)-(clap)-O-I-A
(clap)-(clap)-O-I-A
And Gioia is our name-o

There is a family who has a name
And Gioia is our name-o
(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-I-A
(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-I-A
(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-I-A
And Gioia is our name-o

There is a family who has a name
And Gioia is our name-o
(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-A
(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-A
(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-A
And Gioia is our name-o

There is a family who has a name
And Gioia is our name-o
(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-(clap)
(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-(clap)
(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-(clap)-(clap)
And Gioia is our name-o

Leave a Reply

